Facebook Campaign enables us to measure response and retarget from campaigns we run on Facebook and Instagram

Hadley Wood winner receives star award

Published on:

30 June 2016

Share this article:

Last night, at the Dugdale Centre in Enfield Town, Karen Fernandes, chair of governors at Hadley Wood Primary School was crowned Enfield's 'Outstanding School Governor, 2016'.

Last night, at the Dugdale Centre in Enfield Town, Karen Fernandes, chair of governors at Hadley Wood Primary School was crowned Enfield's 'Outstanding School Governor, 2016'.

At the annual celebration of school governors organised by Enfield Council, dozens of governors gathered to learn who would be this year's outstanding winner.

To loud applause, Karen Fernandes, chair of governors at Hadley Wood primary school, was both surprised and thrilled as she collected her award from Enfield Mayor, Cllr Bernadette Lappage.

Cllr Ayfer Orhan, Enfield Council's Cabinet Member for Education, Children's Services and Protection, said: "Karen is a worthy winner. Her nomination describes the breadth of her work as chair of governors, her attention to detail and the depth of knowledge that she has acquired.

"Her commitment to Hadley Wood is clear and her determination to see that the school maintains its high standards unflinching. It was a great pleasure to present this year's award to her."

On receiving her award, Karen said: "I am delighted to receive this honour. I have spent many happy years chairing the governing body at Hadley Wood and have only praise for the headteacher, the staff and the support from my fellow governors.

"We take our work seriously and recognise our responsibilities to all the pupils. The results at Hadley Wood speak for themselves. The children are keen to learn and their parents back the school to the hilt.

"I also want to thank all Enfield school governors. I am sure that it becomes a passion and we all want to ensure that our schools do well. The Governors' evening is a great Enfield tradition and always a success. Thanks to Enfield Council for the award and thanks to all governors for all their hard work."

The evening also celebrated the work of all governors who put in many hours as volunteers supporting local schools.

Through the council's training scheme, school governors achieve accreditation across three levels. This provides the skills and expertise for successful school governance and across the borough governors are reaching the highest level.

Throughout the borough 1,200 governors give up their time to lead the management and policy making in over 90 Enfield schools.

A panel of three judges reach their decisions based on the way governors work with their schools; the leadership and contribution they make; and the energy and commitment that they have for their work.

Enfield's Mayor, Cllr Bernadette Lappage, said: "School governors do a magnificent job dealing with big decisions such as appointing staff, school budgets, behaviour issues and building works.

"We are fortunate that so many of them have been active in our schools for a number of years and can truly be called experts. The awards evening is a time to thank them."

Cllr Orhan added: "This year we are also congratulating Matt Miller the 2012 outstanding governor and Chair of Highlands School who receives an MBE in this year's Queen's Birthday Honours.

"He joins Gordon Stubbersfield, the 2014 outstanding governor and Chair of Southgate Academy and Janet Leach of Waverley Special School who received their MBEs in this year's New Year's Honours list and Raymond Barker Chair of Honilands Primary School who received an MBE in last year's Queen's Birthday Honours list.

"Our school governors are among the most active volunteers in Enfield. They are a shining example of the Enfield Heroes campaign designed to encourage more people to take part in all kinds of community services in schools, hospitals, libraries, charity shops, supporting carers and helping people in so many ways – we are proud of all of them."

To find out more about becoming a school governor email Theresa Palmer or call 020 8379 3321.

You can find out more about volunteering on this website.