Facebook Campaign enables us to measure response and retarget from campaigns we run on Facebook and Instagram

Mayor and Cabinet chosen by Enfield Council

Published on:

10 May 2017

Share this article:

Enfield Council has selected Cllr Christine Hamilton as its new Mayor and chosen a cabinet for the next year. 

  • Mayor and Cabinet elected by Enfield Council
  • Cllr Christine Hamilton chosen as Mayor of Enfield, Cllr Doris Jiagge will act as Deputy Mayor
  • Mayor's charity will support carers and caring over next 12 months

Enfield Council selected a new mayor and choose a cabinet at its annual Mayor Making meeting tonight (Thursday May 10).

Cllr Christine Hamilton was selected as Mayor, her deputy will be Cllr Doris Jiagge, the Council also decided which politicians would hold cabinet posts for the next year.

The new Mayor’s chosen charity will be called “Enfield Cares” and will work to raise money to support carers and caring in the borough over the next 12 months

It will specifically raise cash for charities including All People All Places, MIND in Enfield, Tender Care, Nightingale Hospice and the Sickle cell & Thalassaemia Charity at North Middlesex Hospital.

Cllr Hamilton, said: “I am thrilled and honoured to have been chosen as Mayor of Enfield by my peers, I look forward to representing the borough and meeting as many people as possible as part of my mayoralty.

“During my year in office I will be working to raise money to support carers and caring in this borough to ensure everyone in Enfield has the best possible quality of life.”

In addition to Cllr Hamilton’s appointment, cabinet posts were also agreed.

Leader: Cllr Doug Taylor
Deputy Leader: Cllr Achilleas Georgiou
Education, Children’s Services & Protection: Cllr Ayfer Orhan
Finance & Efficiency: Cllr Dino Lemonides
Housing & Housing Regeneration: Cllr Ahmet Oykener
Economic Regeneration & Business: Cllr Alan Sitkin
Environment: Cllr Daniel Anderson
Community Safety & Public Health: Cllr Krystle Fonyonga
Health & Social Care: Cllr Alev Cazimoglu
Community, Arts & Culture: Cllr Yasemin Brett